The Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program (DDETFP) Transportation Research Board Fellowship provides funding for students pursuing degrees in transportation related disciplines. Recently Mario Rojas and Andres McEwen were named Eisenhower Fellows to conduct research and present their research results at the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. in January 2016. Mario Rojas will present his research on the potential of cell phone GPS data as a source of detailed travel information for traffic and transportation planners. Andres McEwen will present his work on porous pavements to reduce drainage infiltration costs, encourage aquifer recharge while making driving safer.

Christine Wipfli, last year’s minority fellow from FIU, was recently quoted in the new TRB Mission and Services Brochure about her experience with the TRB’s Student Fellows Program.  Her research focused on the effectiveness of the high speed rail system in the U.S, its connectivity to national airports, and the variables that influence how the passengers reach those airports.

Andres Mc Ewen
Eisenhower Fellow
Mario B. Rojas
Eisenhower Fellow
Christine Wipfli
TRB Minority Fellow